Social Distancing Guide for Worshipers

I’ve been thinking about these verses today in light of the new COVID-19 reality. How do we “not give up meeting together” when the best way to stay safe and healthy is to do just that? I really have more questions than answers right now, but in an effort to not socially and spiritually isolate while I keep my distance, I have decided to put some thoughts here.

The last couple days have been nothing if not CHANGING. My husband looked at me today in the kitchen and said, “Here goes day 2.” And I thought surely it’s been longer than that…? For some of you reading this it’s been much longer than 2 days, but for me it feels like the landscape had shifted dramatically in the past couple days in my world and I’m still trying to adjust. I got an email from our pastor yesterday that gave a list of creative ways to keep moving forward during this weird time. So here’s what I’m going to do to keep moving forward. I’m going to post some hymns and other songs. Here’s my attempt at virtual worship leading. I’d love to try to worship with whoever is reading and listening along!

I’m hoping to record some new songs and videos in the future, but as luck would have it, I have a cold and no singing voice at the moment. But I came across this hymn that I posted several years ago. It’s called Lord, Through Changing Days Unchanging

This is the line that resonates with me today:

Go beside us, lead and guide us to whatever things are true.

What are you doing to stay connected to a worshiping community when we can’t get together? Here are a few I’ve been thinking of. Please share yours in the comments!!

  1. Keep on singing. Crank up the worship music – it’s your chance to be your own worship leader. Go ahead and pick all your favorite songs! Here’s a Spotify playlist of songs we’re singing at our church these days: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/7yRAU8xpMoF6EsDbTCTZS2?si=DlatlTL_QiW54xD9W9i_Zg
  2. Remember the songs and scriptures that have brought you through tough times in the past and listen to them again and again. If you spend an hour watching or reading the ever-changing news stories, spend at least that long filling your mind and your soul with a soundtrack of reminders that GOD IS IN CONTROL. Because he totally is.
  3. Discover new songs for this new season. If you’re so inclined, write new songs about how God is meeting you these days. Ask God to show you new verses and passages that can sustain you during this new trial.
  4. Find a way to tune in to a worshiping community. Our church is hoping to keep live-streaming our Sunday services. You can find it each Sunday at 9:15am here.

2 thoughts on “Social Distancing Guide for Worshipers

Leave a comment